DWAA 2019 Writing Competition Winners

On Sunday, February 9, the Dog Writers Association of America hosted its annual banquet and awards event. This year, we sold out for the first time in a while, and oh the memories that were made! 

Guests enjoyed keynote speeches from author Anne Serling and Dogwise’s Larry Woodward, dined on a delicious Italian buffet, and received many surprises throughout the evening. 

We’d love to see you at the 2021 event to be held in Secaucus, New Jersey once again, as the feedback has been stellar. Special thanks to our Banquet and Contest Chair, Darlene Bryant, for all of her hard work in pulling this event together and overseeing the competition with all of its moving parts.

Miles strikes a pose on the red carpet. His mom is Emma Kesler.

May We Have The Envelopes, Please?

And now, DWAA proudly announces your 2019 Writing Competition Regular and Special categories winners. 

Click here to view all nominees and winners here.

Official Event Program

As a bonus to everyone included on this list, here is a link to view the PDF of the program.  (please note that we inadvertently excluded one sponsor, Good News for Pets, from the official program. )

Special Awards Sponsors

Over $15,000 in special award monies were given out thanks to our treasured sponsors, including:

* AKC Club Publication Excellence Award: $500 and a plaque
* AKC Reunite Microchip Awareness Award: $1,000 
* AKC Responsible Dog Ownership Public Service Award: $500 and a plaque
* AKC Family Dog Award: $500
* Canine Scribbles Award: $350
* Captain William Lewis Judy Award: $350
* Dogster Health and Wellness Award: $500
* DOGTV Canine Enrichment Award: $500
* Dr. Harvey’s Canine Health Award: $500
* Fidose of Reality Dog Blogger Award: $300 and a trophy
* DWAA Robert H. McKeown Memorial Friends of Rescue Award: $300
* The Fear Free Pets Award: $2,000 and a commemorative plaque
* The Fear Free Dog Enrichment Award: $2,000 and a commemorative plaque
* The Good News for Pets Award: $500 
* The Grey Muzzle Award: $500 and a commemorative plaque
* Harrison Stephens Inspirational Feature Award: $300
* James Colasanti, Jr. Poetry Award: $200
* DWAA Junior Writer Award: Four ages groups, $250 each 
* PSI Professional Pet Care Award: $300 
* The Rio Award: $300 
* Sleepypod Pet Safety Award: $500 
* Vet Candy Award: $300 and a plaque
* Pet Candy Award: $300 and a plaque
* The Walter R. Fletcher Memorial Award: $300 and front row working press seat at WKC dog show
* Dogwise Best Book Award: $500 
* DWAA Distinguished Service Award: $1,000 and a plaque

Attitude of Gratitude

If you missed our Facebook gratitude post, please check it out by clicking here.

This event was a massive undertaking and it takes a dedicated team to pull it all together. 

Congratulations to all winners and stay tuned for official event photographs from our event photographer, Angela Schneider of Noses & Toes Pet Photography who flew in from Washington to capture the event!