Annual Event in New York City

Seminar & Writing Competition Awards Luncheon


DWAA is trying something new for February 2016 and you’re not going to want to miss a minute. We’re still planning an awards banquet for the Sunday before Westminster, but that’s not all. Join us that morning for a seminar with speakers who will help you learn how to be a productive (paid!) writer in the 21st century.

Presenters at the Seminar

Carol Bryant
Carol Bryant
Helping everyone understand the ins and outs of blogging.

Gayle King introduced Carol Bryant as, “A dog lover of the highest order,” when she and her Cocker Spaniel appeared on Oprah Radio’s Gayle King show. She is a frequent media contributor, appearing on television, radio, and in print. A guest speaker at conferences and seminars about dog products and travel, she also has a passion for growing social media and helped one client land the “best dog blog” honor. Carol writes for Pet360, Hamptons Pet Magazine, and also works with BlogPaws pet blogger social media community and conferences. She has helped numerous pet industry clients obtain coverage in various forms of media. She is the founder of Wigglebutt Warriors whose heart beats dog.™ Visit Carol at FidoseofReality.com.

Ranny Green
Ranny Green
Discussing being creative with one’s abilities in today’s tight freelancing market.

A longtime (1972-2008) Seattle Times features writer, copy editor and pet columnist and multi-winner of DWAA Maxwell Awards in newspaper column and feature categories. He spent nearly two weeks in Louisiana, post-Katrina in 2005, writing stories for The Times while embedded with Noah’s Wish pet disaster relief organization. In 2013, he spent several days in Newtown, Connecticut, following the shooting massacre in Sandy Hook Elementary School. He was the first U.S. journalist allowed in the school to interview staff, students and parents. Ranny is a co-director of the Westminster Kennel Club media team. He writes a monthly feature and dog-book reviews for seattlekennelclub.org and regular features for goodnewsforpets.com. In 2013, he was inducted into the DWAA Hall of Fame.

Mara Bovsun
Mara Bovsun
Describing how to use meetups and media to promote projects and as a way to gather information on specific topics.

An award-winning writer and editor for the American Kennel Club’s publications and websites. She has also served in many other capacities for the organization, not the least of which is being the AKC Beagle Mascot, Bailey, at several events. When she’s not being the dog, she practices and competes in agility, running, and tricks training with two Leonbergers, Emily and Cleah. She also has the great privilege of watching over her 15-year-old yellow Lab, Maggie, the one-time death-row inmate who gave her the wonderful gift of a life with dogs.

Mara's Down Stay

Mara’s Down Stay
Larry and Charlene Woodward
Larry and Charlene Woodward
Explaining the difference between working with a niche publisher and with a publisher who focuses on material for the mass market, as well as giving tips on how to develop an audience and turn into an in-demand author.

Charlene and Larry are the founders and owners of Dogwise.com and Dogwise Publishing. Founded in 1987, the business focused originally on marketing books at dog shows and through a mail-order catalog. Dogwise Publishing was founded in 2001 and is now the primary focus of the business with an emphasis on books of interest to dog trainers and enthusiasts. Larry is the chief editor and Charlene is the acquisitions manager. They live in Wenatchee, Washington.

General Admission Presale ends Feb 6 at 12:00 p.m. EST

$125

Per Person Presale, $160 at the Door General Admission

Awards Luncheon Seminar Not Included, Presale ends Feb 6 at 12:00 p.m. EST

$90

Per Person Presale Only
  • Luncheon
  • Writing Competition Awards Ceremony
Awards Luncheon
Online Ticket Sales End Feb 6th!

Presale tickets are available online until February 6th at 12:00 p.m. EST.  Please note that a LIMITED number of tickets will be available at the door, on a first-come, first-served basis.  The prices are higher, and there’s no guarantee that your choice of meals will be available.  So order your tickets online, before the deadline!

For those who prefer not to register online, please download the manual registration form here.

When

Sunday, February 14, 2016

8:00 a.m. – 8:45 a.m. General Membership Meeting
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Seminar
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m. Editor Appointments
1:00 p.m. Luncheon
1:00 p.m. Cash Bar Opens
2:00 p.m. Annual Writing Competition Awards Ceremony

Where

Held in the Gold Ballroom

Hotel Pennsylvania
401 Seventh Ave.
New York, NY 10001
Phone: (212) 736-5000

Luncheon Menu

Choice of:

  • Rigatoni with grilled chicken, sweet sausage and vegetables, tossed in a light tarragon cream sauce
  • Grilled salmon fillet with lime beurre blanc
  • Vegetable lasagna

Sides:

All meals will be served with mixed green salad, fresh rolls and butter

Dessert:

Cheesecake

Beverages:

Brewed coffee, decaffeinated coffee, tea, or soda upon request.  Cash bar available.

Awards Ceremony

Join us to celebrate the nominees and announce the winners of this year’s writing competition.  Maxwell Medallions will be awarded to the winners of our regular categories, and cash awards will be presented to the winners of our special categories.

Seminar

The New Journalism of Dog Writing—How to Get Yourself Published in the 21st Century

See above for presenters and topics.

Editor Appointments

A limited number of 10 minute appointments are available.  $10 each.  Available only to conference attendees – purchase of General Admission or Member Admission is required.

Book an Editor Appointment

Appointments offered with:

Larry/Charlene Woodward of Dogwise

Mara Bovsun of the AKC

Stephanie Fornino

Stephanie Fornino is the Associate Publisher at TFH Publications, where she’s been editing and writing for more than a decade. Stephanie holds a B.A. from Chestnut Hill College in Philadelphia, PA. She resides with her husband in New Jersey. Stephanie is looking for writers to pen web content on dogs, cats, horses, small mammals, reptiles, and fish.


Lea-Ann Germinder

Lea-Ann Germinder is the longtime publisher of Goodnewsforpets.com, a niche pet news website and digital platform. She is also president of Germinder & Associates, a New York City based public relations firm. The Goodnewsforpets.com site was recently relaunched and features regular interviews, contests, book promotions and occasional guest writers.
Germinder has been a DWAA member since 2000 and is interested in meeting and networking with fellow DWAA attendees and dog writers of all kinds.


Amy Deputato and Chris Reggio of I-5 Press

Amy Deputato has edited books professionally for close to 20 years, with the bulk of her experience in pet, particularly dog, topics, first with TFH, then with BowTie, and now as Senior Editor with i-5 Press. As an owner of rescued dogs, former shelter volunteer, rescue transporter, and foster home for several organizations, Amy’s love of dogs extends well beyond the page.  She enjoys the interactive process of editing and helping dog professionals bring their knowledge and experience to life so that the dog-loving population (and their four-legged best friends) can benefit from their expertise.

Christopher Reggio is a 40 year veteran of the publishing industry who began his career as a bookstore cashier eventually becoming a book publisher. He has published dog and other pet books for over 15 years first at Reader’s Digest (Associate Publisher, Director of Trade Publishing), TFH (publisher), and in his current position General Manager, i-5 Press. He is the parent of both pure-bred and rescue dogs, and has earned the AKC Therapy Dog title with his Flat-Coated Retriever Lucy. Chris is always on the lookout for new and interesting book ideas.


Michaela Hamilton of Kensington Publishing Corp.

Michaela Hamilton is the Editor at  Kensington Publishing Corp.

Among her areas of interest, she is looking to acquire fiction and nonfiction books in the tradition of Marley & Me — a full-length account of a special dog that changes a person’s life.


Photos from Last Year’s Event


More Photos